PlayStation Network Goes Offline for Maintenance on January 17

The online service won't be available tomorrow for 12 hours

By on January 16th, 2013 12:13 GMT

Sony has confirmed that it's going to take down its PlayStation Network online service on January 17, in order to perform routine maintenance.

The PSN has become a key feature of Sony's PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita platforms, as owners can consume all sorts of impressive content via the online service.

Tomorrow, however, PS3 and PS Vita owners won't be able to access the PSN, as Sony has confirmed that it's taking down the service on January 17 for some routine maintenance that will last around 12 hours.

More specifically, according to the PS blog, on January 17 at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm GMT and until 8pm PT/11pm ET/4am GMT, PS3 and PS vita owners won't be able to access the PSN, the PS Store, or Account Management.

However, they will be able to play different multiplayer titles online with others and use apps that require PSN access if they sign in before the maintenance starts.

16 Comments